“Really?”

I use that word a lot, every day.  And not in a genuine, inquiring sort of way.

I use it in an annoyed, “of course this would happen right now” sort of way.  No upward inflection at the end of the word that indicates a question.  Simply monotone, almost as though it were punctuated with a period.  “Really.” The equivalent of slapping my palm to my forehead.

My nurses aide – “amostlyseriousnurse, Mr. J just pulled out his NG tube as I was standing there”

The nurse on my end of the unit – “amostlyseriousnurse, it’s 1.5 hours into my shift and I’m going for a coffee break.  Can you watch my group?  I have someone’s PCA that’s about to run out and will need to be changed, someone coming back from CT who needs 4 people to transfer and I just put someone else on the bedpan.  Oh, and my nurse’s aide is also going on break.”

The doctor I wouldn’t trust to cut my toenails – “amostlyseriousnurse, do you have Mrs. X? I’m not seeing any respirations, can you come verify?”

The phlebotomist – “amostlyseriousnurse, Mr. P is refusing to have his blood drawn.”

The lady who delivers the meal trays – “amostlyseriousnurse, I have a tray for the reverse flow isolation room that you just left.

I just need a sign hanging around my neck that says, “Really” and I’ll do the palm to forehead.

Leave a Reply

